Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Social Situations » Suicide

Thirteen Reasons Why

By Jay Asher

Elsewhere US$19.78 US$11.81   Save US$7.97 (40%)
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from UK supplier
Rating:
 
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 304 pages
Published In: United Kingdom, 01 July 2010
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher is a phenomenal New York Times Number One bestseller. It tackles the aftermath of teen suicide from the critically acclaimed young adult author Jay Asher - perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars. You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret ...is to press play. Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and first love - who committed suicide. Hannah's voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why. All through the night, Clay keeps listening - and what he discovers changes his life ...Forever. Bestselling US author Jay Asher had the idea for his debut young adult novel Thirteen Reasons Why at a museum. Whilst taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at but wasn't there. You can hear Hannah's tapes at hannahsreasons.blogspot.com.

About the Author

Jay Asher got the idea for Thirteen Reasons Why at a museum. While taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at , but wasn't there. Jay has worked in various bookstores and lives in California. The US bestseller, Thirteen Reasons Why, is his debut novel.

Reviews

A dizzying ride of suspense and revelation -- Kathryn Hughes Guardian A stealthy hit with staying power ... thriller-like pacing New York Times Thirteen Reasons Why is a mystery, eulogy, and ceremony. I know, in the years to come, I will often return to this book -- Alexie Sherman, author of the award-winning DIARY OF A PART-TIME INDIAN Readers won't be able to pull themselves away ... Publishers Weekly

EAN: 9780141328294
ISBN: 0141328290
Publisher: Penguin Books
Dimensions: 19.8 x 12.9 x 1.8 centimeters (0.20 kg)
Age Range: 10-14 years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Reviews

5 of 5 Stars! '

Thirteen Reasons Why is without a doubt one of the best books of the year. Why? It isn't because it's sad. It isn't because it's about suicide. It isn't because it's dramatic. It's because it's well-written; it's real. The characters--from Hannah and Clay through all of the minor characters that come up as "reasons" such as Justin and Brent and Jenny--are so real, so well-developed, so human. The story is haunting and it's easy to understand why Clay's life will never be the same. How Hannah's death and life have changed him. Clay couldn't stop until he'd heard the tapes; I couldn't stop from reading til her story was through. It was very gripping, very haunting.

3 person found this review helpful 0 did not

4 of 5 Stars! '

Such an amazing book!

I read this a fews years back and it has stuck with me ever since. I have not read any other book by Jay Asher but his writing in this is very charming and perfectly suited to the situation. It is a tricky subject but I think he handles it well and I would recommend this to anyone.

1 person found this review helpful 1 did not

1 of 5 Stars! '

Delivery was VERY VERY VERY slow. Did not receive during estimated time frame. What the hell man. Now still haven't arrive yet.

 

3 of 5 Stars! '

Delivery was really really fast. But too much scratches on the cover

 
4 reviews, showing 1 to 4

Review this Product

BAD GOOD
 

Related Searches

 

This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.